Estonia and the Schengen

The Schengen area consists of the 26 European countries, which have abolished any type of border control, including passports, between their common borders, now referred to as the internal borders of the Schengen area. The area also operates with a common visa policy.Estonia is a member of the Schengen area.

As Estonia is part of the Schengen area, having an Estonian visa or a residence permit will allow the holder to travel freely between the Schengen states subject to carrying with them the required documents.

The main benefit of being a part of the Schengen area is the simplicity of the free movement of goods, people, information and money. As the area contains over 400 million people, it allows access to an incredibly large market and thereby facilitates doing business in Europe.